Seeds

cajun seeds

With so many competitions in the recent months, the subsequent need for a keto-ish diet for weight maintenance, and my tolerance for a very repetitious and unvaried diet has meant that I have probably been missing out on some key nutrients. Although I’ve been hitting my target macros, I’ve almost certainly not paid enough attention to my micros, with a diet consisting of mainly green veg, meat and fats I’ve likely been missing out. This may be the cause for my recent exhaustion.

So, to combat this I have done a number of things. To start with, I’m trying to vary the meals I have each week. With pre-preparing meals this can be hard, but I am trying to not eat the same meal for more than 4 days at a time.  I am also trying to incorporate more colour into my diet. Having eating so much green for so long, I am eating more of a range of colours as this will mean more of a range of nutrients. Peppers, aubergines and blueberries have all found their way back onto my plate, and I’m loving it.

One particular food which I feel is often overlooked as an amazing source of minerals and fats is seeds. Holland and Barrett do a great little mix called ‘Omega Sprinkle’ of which I’ve had 2 bags sitting in my cupboard for an age, so I decided to do something with them so I’m more likely to eat them. I’ve come up with a really simple way of adding some extra flavour and crunch to them, which is probably all over the internet already but here’s my take!

Ingredients

– 1 and 1/2 cups mixed seeds
– 1 egg white
– Pre-prepared spice mix of your choice

Method 

  •  Pre-heat the oven to 180 °C (350 °F )
  •  Line a baking sheet with grease-proof paper
  •  Whisk the egg white until reasonably firm
  •  Sprinkle the seeds with the spice mix (as much or as little as you like)
  •  Fold the spiced seeds into the egg white and spread across the baking tray
  •  Sprinkle with some more spice for added flavour
  •  Bake for 7 minutes or so, then break up the mix a bit with a fork
  •  Continue baking, checking and mixing every 4-5 minutes or so, and remove when the mix is evenly browned and crunchy
  • Allow to cool, and store in an air-tight container

These seeds are perfect for afternoon snacking, or sprinkling over a salad. I used a cajun spice mix, which is absolutely heavenly. I also made another batch using a little vanilla extract and some stevia, great for sprinkling on top of some greek yoghurt. Let me know what you think of this recipe 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

