Fail

There are some brilliant, beautifully shot pictures of me lifting from the BDFPA British championships this weekend, which I will share in the next few days, but there’s one which is particularly pertinent and reminiscent of my experience at the champs that I want to share with you now.

Image

This is me failing my 3rd squat attempt of 85kg, which I was never realistically going to get after failing, and being completely distracted by, my second attempt of 82.5kg. I’m not really sure how I ended up in this position, and to be honest I don’t really remember this lift. My head just wasn’t in the room, I was distracted, nervous and had completely the wrong attitude, but it makes for a mildly amusing photo 😛

Training in the last few days hasn’t been super interesting, just getting back into the feel of kit lifting and rehearsing for this Sunday’s competition in Cheltenham. I’ve had a look at the current records and there are none currently set for my weight/age category, and I’m essentially hitting the standards for squat and bench (nowhere near deadlift!), so I have the chance of setting some new records this weekend. They won’t be recognised as it’s just a divisional competition, but it’ll be a big achievement for me. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

