Time off

Deadlifting on Thursday was unsuccessful. I felt fine before training, but by the time I got there I had a headache and felt a bit achey allover, which I put down to brain freeze from the cold wind and the achiness from sitting down for 6 hours at Uni. However, when it came to the lifting warm-up weights felt heavy and 80kg felt like trying for a PB. It wasn’t good and I couldn’t work out what was happening. I tried some empty bar squats and going back down to 60kg to warm me up a bit, but it just wasn’t happening. So I did a couple of 2 and 3 rep sets at 80kg then headed home with a headache and a lot of frustration. Headache and achiness continued into the evening but by Friday morning I was fine.
Opted out of early yoga due to my displeasing deadlift session, so just had squats in the evening. Once more I was fine all day, but at training I had a slight headache and quite painful joints, like the joint-aching of flu. Still managed to squat a raw PB of 85kg, but still didn’t feel 100%. By the time I got home I was hurting all over and feeling really emotional. After some discussion with my coach, I’ve been prescribed the next 3 days off training and exercise, which slightly thwarts my hiking plans for this weekend.
Exercise is seeming to be the trigger for my malaise, as I felt under the weather this morning but my symptoms really came about again after a brisk walk to the shop and cycle into work. While at work I was fine, and I feel relatively ok now, but still not 100%. It’s all very strange! I think if I was getting ill I’d be feeling rubbish constantly, not on and off…
Another concern would be my diet but I’ve definitely been eating enough (and maybe more than enough judging by the number on the scale this morning 😦 ) and I don’t know of any aspects of a high fat diet that would cause these symptoms?
So I shall see how the rest time treats me, it seems like the right thing to do at the moment. I just hope I don’t get too bored!

Leave a Reply

