Progress

Training in the dungeon again today, unfortunately the bench shirt wasn’t given to my coach last night so I didn’t get to try it, but got a successful bench session in nonetheless. Warmed up to 40kg then started the 6 working sets of 4 reps. Went 40, 42.5, 45, 47.5 then a huge PB of 50 for two, rack, then another. Then back down to 45 for another two sets.

Amidst these sets the chiropractor came a-visiting so I had a little session with him about some stiffness I’ve been having in my upper back. Sometimes when I go for a walk in the morning I’m able to make my back click just by breathing deeply and this has been happening for over a month now. Foam rolling offers some relief but not the extent needed. He lay me down, pressed on me and I clicked in multiple places. It was glorious. This has helped a little, but after some discussion with him about various other tight areas I think I might need to start seeing him for more regular and structured sessions. If only the student bank balance would comply!

Ended the session with a coach’s special; a 47.5kg long-paused bench (this is comp PB, and was meant to be 3 second pause but he was distracted!) followed by an actual 3second pause 47.5kg. Both were tough, but after the amount of work I’d done I’m pleased.

Leave a Reply

