The good, the bad and the ugly…

Down to the track in the afternoon today to help move equipment down to a different, slightly smaller, facility for training (some sort of contract issues, not the end of the world). Not light work, but good to have something productive to do.
Then straight into training, squat session started out with warming up unequipped to 40kg, then into a wide-stance squat suit and continued warming up with 2 sets of 3 at 60kg. The hard work started with 80kg for 4, then 80, 85, 87.5, 90, 92.5 95 all for 6 reps, starting with wraps but straps down and no belt, and ending up with straps up, tight belt, and the tightest wraps I’ve had yet. Though I’ve been informed my wraps are indeed not tight at all, so looks like I’ve got a world of joy ahead of me…. Ouch
Ended my session with this beauty of a set, 100kg for 3. Coach pushed his luck and asked for a fourth but my stomach was threatening some sort of eruption, so I could not comply. Lost my balance before I even started which was pretty unnerving, but pushed through it and squatted the heaviest I’ve ever done for reps. Powerlifting ain’t pretty sometimes!
Cycling home after that was not fun at all, I can tell you. Got straight into a hot bath to soak my poor aching legs, seriously not looking forward to how they’re going to feel tomorrow. Good session tonight, feeling accomplished.

Leave a Reply

